Our Council

The work of the College is directed by our Council, similar to a Board of Directors, whose job it is to represent the interests of the public. I.e. the patients who seek the services of a Chiropodist or Podiatrist (member). The Council is made up of professional members who have been elected by their peers, representatives from the Michener Institute for Applied Health Sciences and members of the public who have been appointed by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. The Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (RHPA) and the Chiropody Act gives the College its mandate to regulate its members. It also allows healthcare consumers a strong voice in the regulation of our members by requiring an equitable balance of public appointees and elected professionals on College Council.

Members of the College Council are actively involved in determining the rules that govern the profession. When developing new policies or initiatives, the College consults widely and asks for input from a variety stakeholders. Registrants in particular are asked to provide information, opinions, and feedback. The College ensures that not only is input sought, but that results are shared and improvements are implemented.


Current Council Members



Peter Stavropoulos, Podiatrist




Peter Ferguson, Chiropodist


Melanie Atkinson, Chiropodist

Edward Chung, Podiatrist

Matt Doyle, Chiropodist

Peter Ferguson, Chiropodist

Sasha Kozera, Chiropodist

Irving Luftig, Podiatrist

Patrick Rainville, Chiropodist

Donna Shewfelt, Chiropodist

Peter Stavropoulos, Podiatrist



Eliot To, Chiropodist



Ramesh Bhandari

Jim Daley

Allan Katz

Winnifred Linker

Reshad Nazeer

Andrew Simmons